Urbana University

Urbana University, in Urbana, Ohio, founded in 1850, was a fully accredited four-year liberal arts institution begun by and affiliated with the Swedenborgian Church. Located in the Midwestern heartland, Urbana was a small college affording each student individual attention and a flexibility of curriculum. Personal growth and the atmosphere of academic inquiry were united in a variety of relevant and creative programs encouraging the student’s exploration of the self. In 2014, Urbana University’s assets were acquired by Franklin University. This alliance enabled Urbana to continue to serve students, enjoy immediate improvements to the overall infrastructure of the campus, and provide a renewed energy that our students proudly embraced.

However, the global coronavirus pandemic added a level of stress and uncertainty to Urbana’s prospects that made it impossible to sustain, compelling Franklin University to discontinue physical operations on the Urbana branch campus effective after the Spring 2020 semester ended.