Leadership and Organizational Structure

The Swedenborgian Church operates through a structure of congregational form of government that gives full autonomy to local churches and groups in the governance of their spiritual life. Individual churches and societies belong to regional associations of Swedenborgian churches. These associations belong to the larger church. The delegates from association attend the national convention to elect national officers and committee members, and vote for the adoption of resolutions and constitutional amendments. Both ministers and laypeople are eligible for all offices.

Below are elected officers from the Executive Committee, General Council, Support Units and Council of Ministers.

In 2018 a major change is proposed for the structure of the organization. See the link below to examine the changes to structure.

The Executive Committee of the General Council

The President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer

General Council

The General Council consists of the officers of the Swedenborgian Church and the elected members.

Standing Committee Chairs

Standing Committees work on a specific focus: education, communication and financial resources.

Executive Committee of the Council of Ministers

Chair, Secretary and 3 officers

The Annual Journal

The Journal contains all the reports and officers of all the groups and committees of the church.

Current Organizational Structure

After a two year study, significant changes were implemented at the 2018 Convention